Home Decor

Altered Can

I had an almonds can that was a great size and had no sharp edges. Finding metal without sharp edges is not typical, at least for me. So when the almonds were gone, I was super happy. My husband tried to throw away the can until I caught him trying to help clean up!! I had left in in the kitchen to dry out after I had cleaned it and gotten out the smell of salt. I don’t like the smell of salt for some reason.

After it was saved from near destruction, I covered the can in this cute striped paper. I made the three panels of blue flowery paper and trimmed the edges with a scallop border punch. All of the patterned paper used is Die Cuts With a View. I used several rub-ons from American Crafts, the kids collection. I used the white star edge rub-on for two ‘panels’ of the striped paper and two white ribbon rub-ons for the third panel. This treat jar is going to be used for reward treats when my boys do something good, especially for the tail end of potty training that we are currently dealing with.

I cut out some foam circles that fit perfectly inside the center of the ribbon rub-ons. I added ‘1st’ just to emphasize the reward aspect. One foam circle was added to each of the blue panels. I used a Silver metallic Zig pen to add words to some of the circles and used the pen to make one of the circles look like a baseball, since the boys like baseball. Random, I know but I couldn’t think of any other one word sentiments that were cute at the time.

On the can’s lid, I used my Slice machine to cut out a three-and-a-half inch circle of patterned paper to fit on the inside. I also cut out a tag of another patterned paper. I inked the edges to give the tag a little pop and popped it up with pop dots. In hindsight I don’t know if that was such a good idea since it will be opened and closed several times but I’ll just have to be careful. I’m thinking of going over it with some Mod Podge and hopefully the sealer will provide a little more protection.

Leave a Reply

