Home Decor

Door Hanger

My friend wanted me to make her a door sign for her son, who is 16 months old. She gave me free reign over what to make, which I absolutely hated!! I felt so worried that she wasn’t going to like what I made. But I think ( I hope) that’s natural since we always want to make sure we give our best.


This is what I came up with. I still haven’t decided what ribbon to use but I already sealed it with Mod Podge, so I hope she likes it.
I used my swirls template from the Crafter’s Workshop using white and black ink. I went with the simple color scheme to go with the bold black furniture in the little guys’ room. The swirls give a little dimension to the red background but they don’t take over. I used my old red Sizzix die cutter for the letters, mostly for the embossing effect. I was going to use my Slice for the lettering but my kiddos were sleeping and I didn’t want to wake them up with the sound of the machine. After I made sure they were sound asleep, that’s when I used my Slice and the card Big Kids for the car and dinosaur. I tried to give the die cuts a little bit of dimension while keeping in with the neutral color scheme. I really hope my friend likes the sign okay. I know it’s a little plain but I find it very difficult to decorate boys’ items.

Leave a Reply

