Home Decor

Love frame

I am sending my friend part of her order of Stampin’ Up! stuff and I thought I would make her a small gift. There are cheap frames at Michael’s that used to be a dollar but now they have gone up to $1.50, which is still a good deal but that is a fifty percent increase. Anyhow, I wanted to repeat the simple feel of my last frame but include some more colors. Not to mention that I love any excuse under the sun to use my Making Memories Slice cutter. I’m patiently waiting for the new hands free kit to come out for my Slice and then it will be heaven. I love my slice and I am trying to find some more cheap cards on Ebay. The last two that I bought were fifteen a piece and I really would love to get them that cheap again.

So this frame uses cardstock from the Paper Company since it isn’t going to be handled. The patterned paper is from Die Cuts with a View’s ‘Fun in the Sun’ stack. On the background cardstock, I used a background stamp from the collection Itty Bitty Backgrounds and used the color Sahara Sand. I like that it isn’t too subtle but it isn’t prominent either. The border on the bottom was punched using the new edge punch from Stampin’ Up! and then I went over it in ink from Studio G, although the color looks just like Soft Suede. I love the little inks from Studio G and I love that they are only one dollar at Jo-Ann but I don’t like that they don’t have the color names on them.

All of the cut outs were made using the Slice. I used the Basic Elements card for the word Love as well as the flower and scalloped heart. The scalloped border around the heart has pop dots under them for a little more depth. For the word Embrace, I used the ‘Words & Expressions’ card. For the frame itself, I used Apple Barrel’s Dark Chocolate color and went over it with Mod Podge. I like the color of the frame fine but I’m disappointed in the paint color. The bottle shows the color being very dark while it’s much lighter in reality. A more apt name would be Milk Chocolate than Dark, but I like the lighter color for this. I am just going to have to find a new brown that actually is super dark to add to my paint collection. Oh darn, another reason to buy scrapbook supplies!!!

Cardstock: Paper Company
Stamps: Stampin’ Up!
Ink: Stampin’ Up!, Studio G
Patterned Paper: Die Cuts With a View
Die Cuts: Making Memories Slice

Leave a Reply

