Scrapbooking

Altered Home Decor Items

Making my notebook with all of my items has been very time consuming. I don’t get that much free time to scrap and being a perfectionist means that the time I do have is used by going slow. I’ve been trying to tell myself that the stamps don’t have to be crystal clear, just clear enough so I know what I have and don’t have. But I took a much-needed break from organizing myself to make a couple of home décor items.

First up is a ‘Welcome’ sign that I got from the Dollar Store. I wanted to make something for Easter/Spring Season that was bright and fun. So I used my bottles of paint that have just been sitting there and looking pretty. I didn’t want all dark colors but I didn’t want all pastel colors either. This is what I decided on, with repeating the other colors except the yellow. The yellow was quite bold, and definitely off sets the dark blue. I am planning on going over the sign with Mod Podge tomorrow, but I also want to add something to it. It feels just so plain and simple however I don’t know what I could add that would give it the necessary lift. I’ll have to mull it over some more.

I also altered this picture frame. I started by using a paint-your-own frame from Michaels that was also one dollar. I got the inspiration from Stampin’ Up!’s Occasion Mini catalog on page 41, where there was a black frame and the words inside were pink. I loved the color combo and I have been excited to make a frame like this. I punched out four hearts and made the two butterflies with them. I just trimmed off some of the bottom part and scored two of the hearts. I also added six or seven mini pearls to the middle to give the look of the butterflies’ body. I used my Making Memories Slice for the words inside. They came from the ‘Words & Expressions’ card and cut them in the four-inch size. I then used my Stampin’ Up! stamps to add the little mouse and black butterflies. I colored in the mouse and his heart with watercolor pencils. For the butterflies, I used a silver gel pen to add a little sparkle to the bodies. After going over everything with a couple coats of Mod Podge, the frame is already up on the mantel. Plus, I can change out the ‘picture’ when I want to, so I’m looking forward to that as well.

1 thought on “Altered Home Decor Items”

Leave a Reply

