Card Making

Mother-in-Law


This is a card I made for my mother-in-law’s birthday. She turned 55 and she loves making stuff for everyone in the family. She made pillows for the boys from Thomas the Train fabric, she has made us a blanket, she made her own curtains, and she crocheted a ton of things for the kiddos when they were newborns.
When I was at a crop at Archiver’s, I got two pieces of paper from their kit from Melody Ross’ Homespun Chic Collection, which features sewing. I can’t sew and I had no idea how I would ever use the paper until I was mulling ideas for this card. So thanks to that piece of paper for providing the sewing patterned piece and the dimensions piece on the back. Along the bottom, I used Martha Stewart’s Edge Punch. For the Happy Birthday on the front, I used a rub-on from Making Memories that was in my stash. The copyright on it says 2004. The flower is cut out from Melody Ross’ line as well. The darker red patterned paper is from Stampin’ Up! in their 6 x 6 level 1 hostess set.
The card base is Bazzill textured cardstock using the color Romance. I used a template from the Crafter’s Workshop called Cosmic Workshop in 6 x 6 and went over it in Stampin’ Up! Red Riding Hood Red ink. On the backside of the card, I wanted the color a little softer so I used my my wood less Koh-I-Noor colored pencils with the template. I cut out a scalloped heart using my Making Memories Slice Machine and the Basic Elements card that came with the machine. I went over the heart with different colors of ink and then heat embossed it with gold embossing powder. The large flower on the front that is cut out that was mentioned before has been raised up with pop dots.
She really enjoyed the card. We gave her a bouquet of flowers and had each of the boys give their grandmother a rose. She came over earlier to play with the boys and we went over to her house for dinner while my sister-in-law cooked.

Leave a Reply

