Card Making

Birthday Card- Updated 03-06-10

My father-in-law’s birthday is today. My husband isn’t the most prepared person on the planet when it comes to birthdays and I’m just starting to get involved with his side of the families birthday preparations. So low and behold, I got word of his birthday the day of! Eek! He lives over 1,000 miles away so there was no way his card was getting to him on time but my husband still wanted his card to get out to him today.

Which yeah! I actually did it. Sat down around noon, racked my brain as to how I wanted to do it, kicked around some ideas, thought hmm, maybe try out that glimmer mist again, male up a Happy Birthday sentiment. Ick!!! So not impressed with the glimmer mist. On a glimmer mist side note, I took a piece of Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Up! paper and used the Crème de Chocolate glimmer mist and sprayed using a screen. It still looked awful and blotchy and I am not loving glimmer mist. I’m quite happy I haven’t bought any.

So, after my glimmer mist derailment, I was back at square one. That’s when I got a perfect phone call from my husband calling me on his lunch break seeing how things were going. I told him how stuck I was with the card and my husband mentioned that his dad was very patriotic. I remember seeing a tweet from SplitcoastStampers (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/1620333?&cat=all&what=keywords&si=nancyruth) that did a challenge for a card. The challenge was to do a red, white, and blue theme that wasn’t patriotic. The instant that those words hit my ear, a light bulb went off and I instantly knew how I wanted the card to look.

So here it is. I didn’t have to use a lot of different products. The paper is all Bazzill Basics. The blue paper is called PaulyPoo, and the red is called Kisses. The stamps on the white base are from Stampendous and are stamped using the red and blue inks from Colorbox inks. I love their collections that look like a flower. The rub-ons on the ‘paulypoo’ square are from American Crafts and the button inside the flower is from Little Yellow Bicycle. I have no idea who the flowers or ribbon are from.

Leave a Reply

