Card Making

Fun Techniques Finally Tried

This card is the result of me deciding to finally try some new techniques and just having fun. The card base is Stampin’ Up! More Mustard cardstock. I used versamark ink and a jumbo wheel to create the tone on tone background.

For the flowers, I started with three green flowers and finally jumped on the Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist bandwagon I took this picture to show you what they looked like without the brown glimmer color. The only reason for that though was that Archiver’s was giving a free gift a couple weeks ago. So I misted the three flowers that were in varying shades of green as seen with the glimmer mist that is the color ‘crème de chocolate.’ Since I spritzed the bottle a total of three times to achieve the desired glitter level, I still don’t have an opinion on Glimmer Mist.

I took a red square of Bazzill cardstock and finally used a Bazzill stitching template, with a Stampin’ Up! stamped sentiment inside. I used a circle template, following two circles and did a simple cross-stitch. It was my first time ever cross-stitching. I never learned stitching when I was younger and would still love to learn how to use a sewing machine. However, my first hurdle is that I’m left handed, which does it make it more difficult but most everyone else is just able to be ambidextrous when it comes to issues of electronic functionality. I also can’t drive a stick shift vehicle or even use right handed scissors so I’m in the super duper special group.

Assembly of the card took approximately nineteen to twenty seconds. And that was because the red square wouldn’t stay down due to the thread, so I had to apply a little more adhesive below the square. I love when I can just have fun with something, and not have the pressure of making a card for a specific purpose. Sometimes, it can get the creativity flowing!

Leave a Reply

