Home Decor

Altered Clipboard


Well I finally put the finishing touches on my clipboard over the weekend. I have to admit that finding consistent time during the week to do crafts is quite rare. Hence why it took me so long to finish it. That and the fact that it took five coats of paint to sufficiently color the clipboard. I always look for ways to use my supplies so I can justify why I buy so much in the first place.
So I tried to keep the decorations to a minimum. The strip of flowered paper in the center is from SEI. The other two patterned papers are from Die Cuts With a View. I really enjoyed using my edge punches, obviously since every piece is edged. The blue patterned paper is trimmed with the Martha Stewart Loops edge wing punch. The flowered patterned paper is trimmed with Fiskars simple scallops and the brown dotted paper is trimmed with the Martha Stewart Scallop Dot edge punch. I went over some of the flowers with a glitter gel pen to make them pop a little.
The two scalloped pink flowers were punched from foam. Then I altered sizes of circle punches and used Stampin’ Up! for the sentiment and flower in the center. I used Stampin’ Up! ink as well for the punched flowers and for the mouse. I used my Koh-I-Noor colored pencils for the mouse. I also used different gel pens to add some glitter around the heart held by the mouse and on the scalloped flowers. I then took my white gel pen to add some dots around the scalloped foam flower. I also added a little detail to some rub-ons that were a little dark, just to give it a little pop. After all the decorations, I applied two coats of Mod Podge gloss sealer so there wouldn’t be frayed edges. Finally, I added the ribbon to attach a pen at a later time.
After the umpteen coats of paint to cover the drab clipboard, it only took an hour to decide on how to decorate it and finish it. I think I need to find an acrylic paint primer. I don’t even know if that is a real thing, or if primer is only used for regular paint.

Leave a Reply

