Card Making

Train Invitations


The twins’ birthday is right around the corner. That means, time for their birthday party. Which means invitations! My block was eventually broken when I had to create invitations, which I usually look forward to doing. This year it took about three weeks before finally sitting down and getting to work.
It took a while to form the idea in my head. I used my Making Memories Slice for the cards, which was a huge time saver for me. Before I remembered that I had the awesome machine sitting on my shelf collecting dust since the beginning of December, I had been combing Google images looking for cute printouts of Thomas and James from the series, “Thomas and Friends: Thomas the Tank Engine.” My kids love trains, and not just Thomas. I could go on and on of all the ways they love trains but that would be a blog entry in and of it self!
So when I remembered that I had the Slice Design Card called Big Kids, I could do cuts of trains in blue and red and wouldn’t have to print them out on my computer and then color them in manually. I also used my Slice to cut out the hunter green frame and the you’re invited sentiment. I then ran the sentiment through my xyron X since it is so intricate.
It also took a while to decide on the patterned paper since I didn’t want to use just any patterned paper. I wanted the paper to convey a sense of motion, much like the train moving in motion. Or maybe I just over thought it! And then finally, I also added flock in the smoke cut out area. I love how flock gives it a little fuzzy feel!
Once I started working on the invitations, they came together so fast. It was just getting out of that scrapper’s funk. Now that it’s over, I’m hoping that I’ll be back to creating regularly!

Leave a Reply

