Card Making

Christmas Tags


This was my first year making tags to go along with Christmas gifts. I have to admit, even though I’ve been scrapbooking for over three years, I have always just gone to the store and picked up the sticky tags and plopped them down on the presents.

However, this year, I wanted to get creative and try to make the presents as pretty as possible. We only gave each other one gift each so it was fun to make them personalized. It was also a great way to use up my stash since I bought tags years ago and have never found a way to use them until recently since they are just off-white. As shown in the picture, on one side I stamped the entire tag in red using Colorbox ink. I then went back over it using a dauber from Tsukineko and Red Riding Hood ink. It gave the tag a nice tone on tone color for me and it really made it feel like it wasn’t originally white.

On the opposite side, I stamped the little penguins on all of the tags in Going Gray ink. The stamp set used is called Cute & Cuddly. I then masked the adorable little penguin and stamped the iceberg so he was floating on his way with the present. I used Nights of Navy ink and then went over it afterward with a Sakura glitter gel pen in blue. The little guy has a heart on his chest but it would have taken forever to wipe off the ink and color in the heart with a maroon color. So I just decided to color over the heart with a maroon pen afterward from Marvy Uchida. After putting a little cup of hot chocolate in his flipper by stamping with Chocolate Chip ink, I added a touch of bling on the steam to go along with the sparkle of the iceberg. The space on the iceberg lent itself nicely to writing in the names of who the gifts were for.

I also had to crank out a couple of cards that I didn’t have time to take pictures of. I had previously made seven of each cards for both my sister-in-law and my mother but seven cards make for a random number of cards to give as a gift. Also, I had Thank you cards, Happy Birthday cards, and a couple of Get well cards. I added a condolence card just in case but hopefully they will never have to use it. And finally, I added two congratulations on the baby card. The condolence card used a Stampendous stamp while I used all Stampin’ Up! stamps for the Congrats cards. I would have taken pictures but I was charging my camera’s battery for Christmas morning.

Leave a Reply

