Card Making, Home Decor

Place Cards for last Thanksgiving


For Thanksgiving last year, I had made place cards. I had included flowers and buttons and rubons of flowers. I had included the first initial of everyone’s name. But that was when there were only going to be nine of us at dinner. The weekend before this holiday, I found out that my sister-in-law’s family was going to be coming as well. I went to make some additional place cards for the few members that would be attending. That’s when I really took a look at the place cards I made last year. They were cute, but I could tell that I had made them last year before my style had advanced. I think that’s the great thing about our crafting art is that we are constantly evolving and changing and can witness our growth since we have proof of it at our fingertips all the time.

I woke up Wednesday determined to make new place cards that were better than what I had made from before and that would be easy enough to replicate for the future. I decided to go with a tent style since I had four pieces of 12 x 12 cardstock and I didn’t want to trim down the cardstock and store the scraps. Plus, my patterned paper was cut into 6 x 6 squares so it was easier that way.

So the four pieces of cardstock were cut into six inch squares, making sixteen place cards. I scored each square at one inch and at three-and-a-half inches. That makes for two-and-a-half inches on each side with an inch on the bottom of the tent. The patterned paper was trimmed to 2.25 x 5.5 inches to leave space around on all sides. I used pebbles.inc stencils to chalk the leaf in with the red and on other pages it is a golden color. I also used two colors, which you can’t see very well here but looked good for shading. The fibers I used to tie around the patterned paper came from a big collection that I got from my brother and sister-in-law four years ago. Talk about storing your supplies!

I stamped every person’s name in Chocolate Chip ink. The letters are from Martha Stewarts Crafts. I love the collection. There are multiples of every letter so I can fit multiple names on one acrylic block or if someone’s name has multiple L’s, I’m good to go. They are wonderful. On the front, I used both Hero Arts and Fiskars stamps from their Thanksgiving sets. On half of the sets I used Real Rust and on the other half I used to Close to Cocoa. I didn’t want to color in all of the image, but I did want to just highlight a bit of it and give it a bright feel. I used Koh-I-Noor Woodless Colored Pencils, which I love. The colors are amazing and if I want to blend them, I have a blender pen.

1 thought on “Place Cards for last Thanksgiving”

Leave a Reply

